Cowboys shoot best at 2018 NCAA Championship

Akhil Patel
  • Author: Akhil Patel
  • GLT Content Writer & Developer
Facebook Twitter Share Email Print
OKSt. NCAA 2018


The Oklahoma State Cowboys Men’s Golf Team rolled over the Alabama Crimson Tide to win their first NCAA Championship since 2006 (11th overall.)

Oklahoma State entered the tournament ranked No. 1 in the country. Meanwhile, Alabama clinched their place in the championship by sweeping all five matches against Duke.

Sophomore Viktor Hovland and freshman Matthew Wolff raced out to leads in the opening two matches, but they weren’t the first to clinch a point.

Led by junior Zach Bauchou, his 8-and-7 victory against Jonathan Hardee tied the record for the most lopsided win since the NCAA switched the format to match play in 2009.

Oklahoma State won all five matches, the first for any school since the 2009 championship. Even though the final two matches were not over when they clinched, Oklahoma State is still credited with the victories because they were leading.


OKSt. Cowboys Golf


"It's just special," said Oklahoma State coach Alan Bratton. "What a great environment for college golf and for Oklahoma Sate, I can't thank our people enough to allow the kids to get a thrill of a lifetime like this."

The championship was played on Oklahoma State’s home course Karsten Creek, creating another obstacle for the Tide to overcome. Over 3,000 Oklahoma State fans were in attendance, which certainly gave the Cowboys an advantage.

With this win, Oklahoma State is only five behind Houston for the most titles in NCAA history. The Cowboys will have a nearly identical lineup next year, only losing Kristoffer Ventura to graduation. Oklahoma State will have their sights set on another title in the 2018-2019 season.

Alabama had a terrific season but Oklahoma State’s dominance proved yet again why they are the #1 team in the nation.

Matthew Wolff is known for his unique swing. To find out how nontraditional swings can still be effective, be sure to visit GLT’s Motor Learning Online Course with Matthew Cooke.

2018 NCAA Champions